Ender's Game (1977)
Spine Front Cover Book Details
Orson Scott Card
Publication Date 1993
Format Leather-bound (220 x 145 mm)
Publisher The Easton Press
Genre Science Fiction
Product Details
Series Masterpieces of Science Fiction
Edition Signed Edition
No. of Pages 226
Paper Type Acid-neutral paper
First Edition No
Personal Details
URL This book on Amazon.com
Rating 9
No. of Reviews 1870
Frontispiece/Illustrator Walter Velez
Introduction/Foreward George Slusser
Original Details
Original Publication Year 1977
Intense is the word for Ender's Game. Aliens have attacked Earth twice and almost destroyed the human species. To make sure humans win the next encounter, the world government has taken to breeding military geniuses -- and then training them in the arts of war... The early training, not surprisingly, takes the form of 'games'... Ender Wiggin is a genius among geniuses; he wins all the games... He is smart enough to know that time is running out. But is he smart enough to save the planet?
Collector's Notes

Orson Scott Card's Ender's Game won both the Nebula and Hugo Awards in 1986, but they were not the first recognition Card had received. His work had been nominated for awards from the very first, which happened to be the novellette "Ender's Game" published in Analog in 1977. On the strength of that and other stories published that year, members Of the World Science - Fiction Convention voted him the Campbell Award as best new writer of the year. But it was the publication of the novel Ender's Game, and its awards, that identified Card as a coming star in the science-fiction firmament, and the same sweep of awards the following year for the sequel to Ender's Game, Speaker for the Dead, that confirmed Card's status.

The novellette that launched Card's writing career formed only a kind of prologue to the novel, which was published in 1985, after the publication of five other novels, beginning with Hot Sleep in 1978. Ender's Game, like many of the stories and novels Card wrote up to this time, deals with community and the isolation of the individual. Card's characters often are "children or otherwise innocent," he has written, "forced ahead of time into responsibilities they cannot, but nevertheless do, bear."

Richard A. Lupoff in Twentieth-Century Science-Fiction Writers commented, "Like many young writers and a substantial number of writers of all ages - Orson Scott Card concerns himself repeatedly with a single theme. This theme is the growth and transformation of the individual. It is the story of coming-of-age, the story of the rite of passage, the story of the transformation of the boy, clever and ambitious but ignorant and dependent, into the man of maturity, responsibility, and power." It is the story of Card himself.

All fiction is to some extent autobiography, but Card's stories and novels are deliberately about the events that have shaped Card himself. Born into a Mormon family in Richland, Washington, in 1951, Card earned a bachelor's degree in theater from Brigham Young University in 1975 and a master's degree in English from the University of Utah in 1981, and attended Notre Dame. Earlier he had served as a volunteer missionary in Brazil from 1971-73 and operated a repertory theater in Provo from 1974-75. He has also worked as proofreader and editor, and taught at all three of the universities he attended, as well as at numerous writers workshops.

Card's consciousness of his own thematic concerns and working methods has been expressed in many autobiographical statements, including the reviews he writes monthly for The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. But his most revealing comments may be found in the collection of his short stories, Maps in a Mirror (1980), a selection of The Easton Press "Signed First Editions of Science Fiction" series. Speaker for the Dead also has been published in Easton's "Masterpieces of Science Fiction" series. Card continued the series in 1991 with Xenocide.

Card followed his Nebula and Hugo sweeps with several more series, as well as revisions of several earlier novels. One of them, Tales of Alvin Maker, a science fantasy of an early 1800s alternate America in which folk magic is real, began in 1987 with Seventh Son and is still in progress. A second, Homecoming, that began with The Memory of Earth in 1992, is a five- book series placed forty million years in the future. Card's most recent book is Lost Boys, a novelization of an earlier short story.

A special introduction to The Easton Press edition of Ender's Game has been commissioned by The Easton Press from George E. Slusser, director of one of the outstanding collections of science fiction, the Eaton Collection at the University of California, Riverside, and its Eaton Conference on Science Fiction and Fantasy, which is in its 15th year. In 1986 Slusser was presented the Pilgrim Award of the Science Fiction Research Association for his lifetime work in criticism and scholarship. Most recently he has been appointed chair of Composition and Literature at Riverside.